Slovakia will be the thirteenth country to welcome European Throwing Cup

The European Throwing Cup was created in response to the fact that the throwers – with the exception of shot putters – do not have the opportunity to compete in the indoor season. The European Athletics (EA) therefore supported the special winter throwing event, which was held for the first time on 9 and 10 March 2001 in Boulouris, near the city of Nice in south of France, under the title European Winter Throwing Challenge. In 2005, the title was changed to the European Cup Winter Throwing which stayed until 2016. The last two years of 2017 and 2018 have already taken place as the European Throwing Cup.

By 2006, only seniors competed in all four disciplines – shot put, discus throw, hammer throw and javelin throw. In 2007, in the 7th year of the event, the EA included U23 men´s and women´s competitions in the program for the first time, so there are currently up to 16 competitions in the program, 8 for the adult category and also for the U23.The European Throwing Cup has taken place in 12 countries so far (3 times in Portugal and in Spain, 2 times in in France and in Croatia, 1 in Italy, Malta, Turkey, Israel, Ukraine, Bulgaria, Montenegro and Romania). Slovakia will welcome the EuropeanThrowing Cup top class athletes at Šamorín´s in x-bionic® sphere as the thirteenth country.


2001 Nice/Boulouris (FRA)

2002 Pula (CRO)

2003 Gioia Tauro (ITA)

2004 Marsa (MLT)

2005 Mersin (TUR)

2006 Tel Aviv (ISR)

2007 Yalta (UKR)

2008 Split (CRO) – 0

2009 Los Realejos/Tenerife (ESP)

2010 Arles (FRA)

2011 Sofia (BUL)

2012 Bar (MNE)

2013 Castellón (ESP)

2014 Leiria (POR)

2015 Leiria (POR)

2016 Arad (ROU)

2017 Las Palmas (ESP)

2018 Leiria (POR)

2019 Šamorín (SVK)